Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 24th, 2008

Cheering on Last Place

I just returned from watching my two boys (Bayley and Brock) compete in the regional Harrier (cross country) competition. My younger son Brock came in 1st for his school and second overall for his grade. I was proud! We waited for the last race – the most talked about race of the day – the grade 8 boys. My older son Bayley (right in picture) had won it last year and was being talked about by all the age groups. One grade 8 from another school came up to him and said, “You’re the one everyone’s been warning me about!” I smiled. Bayley’s race is the longest of all races. His group was required to do the longest part – 2x! Anyways, with much pride, I watch my son, once again win the race!

As proud as I was of both my boys, what really impressed me was something that happened LONG after Bayley had won. One of Bayley’s friends was struggling in this race – Bayley almost lapped him. While most people were packing up, he was still running. As he came to the far end of the field (within sight), a LARGE group of fellow school mates ran out to encourage him and run with him the final part of the race. It was quite incredible watching this mass cheering for and running with – the kid in last place.

It’s easy to get behind people who are in first. But, we really show the quality of who we are when we run with those that everyone else has forgotten about – those “in last place”. As leaders, we want to cheer on everyone. Yet, there is something incredible when we go the extra mile with the “forgotten” runner. We need to encourage our team members to congratulate the “winners” and run with those who still haven’t crossed the line.

Perhaps we need to remember, this race in life is not just about us winning…it’s about ensuring everyone crosses the line.

Read Full Post »